Thursday, May 12, 2016

The Wonderful Work of Shannon Mayer

Shannon Mayer is an author I discovered through Amazon, being a big fan of Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs and Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews, Shannon Mayer's books popped up in my recommendations. So I looked it over, and decided to give the first book a try.

The price was reasonable at 2.99 a kindle edition, so I figured it wouldn't break the bank. (I hate paying high prices on kindle editions, makes no sense to me). But these books are well edited and contain very few goofs, they read as if they are coming from a major publishing house, even though Ms. Mayer started out as an Indie author.

So I dug into Priceless, the 1st book in the Rylee Adamson series. And what a fun ride! Ms. Mayer hit a home run in my opinion with this book.

Priceless -  Rylee Adamson Series, Book 

"My name is Rylee and I am a Tracker." 
  When children go missing, and the Humans have no leads, I'm the one they call. I am their last hope in bringing home the lost ones. I salvage what they cannot.
   I'm on the FBI's wanted list. 
   I have a werewolf for a pet, a Witch of a best friend, and have no need for anyone else in my life. 
  But when a salvage starts to spin out of control, help comes from a most unexpected direction. One that is dangerously dark, brooding, and doesn't know a thing about the supernatural. 

One whose kisses set me on fire.

My Take:

Rylee is a tracker, who uses her supernatural gifts to find missing children that humans can't find. She is a kick-ass herione, and everything you want in a character. She's not perfect, and she makes mistakes, but it also makes her believable. But that's not all. There is humor, intrigue, a bit of romance, wonderful sarcasm and plenty of action.

There are plenty of other "supes" in this, including Rylee's best friend Milly, a witch, and her humorous and loyal sidekick Alex, who is a werewolf, but since he isn't an alpha, he's stuck forever in a form between a wolf and a human.

In this first book, Rylee must team up with the FBI agent O'Shea, and this is a slow-burning attraction between them, and they both hate themselves for feeling the attraction, and fight it. O'Shea believes that Rylee murdered her little sister, and has been trying - unsuccessfully - to prove it for the last ten years. Forced to team up with her for a case, and seeing what she is dealing with, will force O'Shea to see Rylee in a new light.

And there are plenty of supernaturals in this world. A lot that are fresh and I haven't seen a lot of in other books. This book keeps you engaged as a reader, and moves along at a good pace. I give this one 4 Stars.

Now I've read the first 7 books in this series, and they keep getting better and better. There are 10 books total in the series, and a couple novellas. I have them all on my kindle, and I will get to them, and report back when I'm finished.

Ms. Mayer is now writing The Elemental Series, she is a prolific writer and seems to pump out a book every 2 months. Love that I don't have to wait too long.

If you go to and sign up for her newsletter, you can get a free book that introduces you to the Rylee Adamson series and The Elemental series.

Find Shannon Mayer's books on Amazon and Goodreads.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.