Saturday, May 14, 2016

Vampires in America Series, by D.B. Reynolds

Let's take a look at a really well written vampire series. Even though the vampire world has been written almost to death in the past few years, I myself still enjoy the genre, and if the series catches me, I will sink my teeth into the book and come up for air later. Vampires in America series by D.B. Reynolds is one of those series that you can get fully immersed in.

This series is full on with 10 full books, and a scattering of novellas in between. Personally, I've read the first 3, and the only thing stopping me from reading the rest is a lack of time and the old adage, "Not enough time to read everything I want to" kicks in. But it's my mission to get to them all.


Vampires in America, Book One
D.B. Reynolds - available now

Malibu, California—home to rock-and-roll gods and movie stars, the beautiful, the rich . . . and vampires. Powerful and charismatic, Raphael is a Vampire Lord, one of the few who hold the power of life and death over every vampire in existence. Thousands call him Master and have pledged absolute loyalty on their very lives. But when, in a brazen and deadly daylight attack, a gang of human killers kidnaps the one female vampire he’d give his life for, Raphael turns to a human investigator to find his enemies before it’s too late. Cynthia Leighton is smart, tough and sexy, a private investigator and former cop who’s tired of spying on cheating spouses and digging out old bank accounts. When Raphael asks for her help in tracking down the kidnappers, Cyn’s happy to accept. But she soon realizes her greatest danger comes not from the humans, but from Raphael himself. Battling Russian mobsters and treacherous vampires, and betrayed by those they trusted, Cyn and Raphael find themselves fighting for their lives while caught up in a passion of blood and violence that is destined to destroy them both. 

My Take:

This book brings you Raphael, the powerful and gorgeous Vampire Lord. Raphael is power personified, and those who dare to cross him, risk so with their lives. But when a gang of humans kidnap a female vampire, Raphael hires tough PI, Cynthia. Cyn is smart, tough and beautiful, and is used to the ways of the vampire society. But what Raphael didn't bargain for, is how Cyn has managed to get under his skin. 

There have been storylines that are so similar in this genre of vampires, but this book throws a few good twists in to make it original. And D.B. Reynolds has a true knack to her writing, that takes you a bit to get used to, but she draws you in and holds you captive once you do. This story is not for the faint of heart, there is violence, hot sex scenes and enough swearing to take on the closest sailor, but it's smart, sexy and an excellent read. 

So far reading, this had been my favorite, with Raphael high on a pedestal for me, and no one has knocked him off yet. You will begin to meet other characters, which will show up in their own books down the line. And another great thing is that the characters keep coming back in the future books, something I appreciate in a series.

I think this is a win win book, and I highly recommend it for fans of JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series. 

I really have to make time to catch up with this series. 

Raphael and the rest of the books are available on Amazon now.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.